Festival Director Chris Millado announced on Friday that 2019 Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival have added more screenings for its top-grossing films, wherein Arden Rod Condez’s ‘John Denver Trending’ and Joji Alonso’s ‘Belle Douleur’ were included. 

“This is so surprising. I swear, we didn’t expect this. We’re also surprised by other people’s reactions.” Condez said. 

Condez admitted that his promotions team has been very active on social media because they were feeling “very insecure”. 

“We thought it was hard to convince people to buy tickets, that’s why we kept selling them. After all, it’s a film in a regional language, with mostly nonprofessional actors,” he said. 

“Maybe, we were wrong. Maybe, we underestimated the Cinemalaya audience. They are capable of loving and appreciating our film, after all, and with that, I’m very happy,” the director said.

Millado, on the other hand, said that those interested for additional screening can visit the Cinemalaya app or website. They will also conduct its screening up to August 13 in selected venues nationwide.

‘John Denver Trending’ tops Cinemalaya 2019 awards

Meanwhile, ‘John Denver Trending’ dominated the 2019 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival awards night on Sunday held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP).

‘John Denver Trending’ took the Best Film award and also bagged the Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Original Music Score awards, and the NETPAC Jury Prize. Aside from the film itself, its lead star Jansen Magpusao took home the Best Actor award.

On another note, Ruby Ruiz was the Best Actress awardee for her role in the film ‘Iska’. 

Actor Ricky Davao was named the Best Supporting Actor for “F#*@bois” while Ella Cruz won the Best Supporting Actress for her role in “Edward.”

Below is the complete list of winners in the Cinemaya 2019:

  • Audience Choice Award (Short Feature): Heist School by Julius Renomeron Jr.
  • Audience Choice Award (Full-length): Belle Douleur by Joji V. Alonso
  • Best Screenplay (Short Feature): Gilb Baldoza (Kontrolado ni Girly ang Buhay Niya)
  • Best Director (Short Feature): Don Senoc (Sa Among Agwat)
  • Best Film (Short Feature): ‘Wag Mo ‘Kong Kausapin
  • Best Sound (Full-length): Immanuel Verona (Iska)
  • Best Original Music Score (Full-length): Len Calvo (John Denver Trending)
  • Best Production Design (Full-length): Alvin Francisco (Edward)
  • Best Editing (Full-length): Benjo Ferrer III (John Denver Trending)
  • Best Cinematography (Full-length): Rommel Sales (John Denver Trending)
  • Best Screenplay (Full-length): Mary Rose Colindres (Iska)
  • Best Supporting Actor (Full-length): Ricky Davao (F#*@bois)
  • Best Supporting Actress (Full-length): Ella Cruz (Edward)
  • Best Actor (Full-length): Jansen Magpusao (John Denver Trending)
  • Best Actress (Full-length): Ruby Ruiz (Iska)
  • Best Director (Full-length): Eduardo Roy Jr. (F#*@bois)
  • Best Film (Full-length): John Denver Trending
  • NETPAC Jury Award (Short Feature): Disconnection Notice (Glenn Lowell Averia)
  • NETPAC Jury Award (Full-length): John Denver Trending (Arden Rod Condez)
  • Special Mention Citation for an Outstanding Short Film: Sa Among Agwat (Don Senoc)
  • Special Jury Award (Short Feature): Tembong (Shaira Advincula)
  • Special Jury Award (Full-length): Edward (Thop Nazareno)
  • Shorts Special Mention for Subject Matter: Norvin de los Santos (Hele ng Maharlika)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here